top of page

What did this week bring (II week 2018)


My inspiration to even attempt II in a professional capacity was born of the years of II as our family worked to suppott my brother and the results i see today are inspired by his strength.. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine]

[endif]

It began with a pair of frozen feet at the RDA stables. But, if you want to experience the peace and tranquility of 7 autistic learners seated atop ponies and horses of various size and demeanor, pop along to a local RDA, but not when it's snowing! I had the pleasure of going to the other local RDA group on Thursday, to experience their way. Also cold! Also with 7 SLD learners silently concentrating on slaloming in and out of the cones. my job allows me to experience moments like this. I am a lucky lady. Visitors came and went this week, some wanting advice, some wanting support. Sharing our understanding of Autism and severe learning difficulties is a huge part of the job, but sometimes you are surprised by what you also learn from the people who come. This deficit model of autism that we fight daily seems to ring loud in mainstream mindsets, and the most telling statement i heard this week was 'she doesn't engage in anything, nothing'. It's this misconception i strive to tackle whenever i can. As a teacher in an SLD setting, i use Intensive Interaction (www.intensiveinteraction.co.uk) all the time - not in sessions neatly timetabled once or twice a week, all.the.time! there will never be another person who has met me, and spent time in one of my classes who will go away saying 'they don't engage in anything' because they do! Ok so it might be something they want to do, but when you say they don't engage in anything, it gives the impression oft encountered in books of old, that kids with SLD and especially ASC and SLD can't, don't and won't do anything we say. As the meme says "they are not waiting to enter our world, but for us to enter theirs". and so after an hour and a half, the visitor could reel off more than a dozen things the girl could do, very successfully i might add. Win! Score! If i can do that with 1 adult a day, i may make my mark yet! But the highlight of my week was to spend time with my wonderful assistant going to 'the big smoke' for the evening to see my dear friend Dean sing at an Autism community event organised by Autspeak. Some amazingly talented people were there, and yes they were autistic, but they were there for their talents. And Dean sang. With all his heart. And it was good. He span me right round like a record and then fed my soul with the 'power of love'. i realised that as an 80's child, i know some really random record lyrics. I also realised that i can make awesome videos on my phone! I then spent the weekend prepping for the 3 training events i have coming up (hence the tardy nature of this blog) Relationships and Behaviour (great twitter chat #behaviourchat on the very subject), Communication without words and next week 2 lots of Intensive Interaction training. Too much to do, too little time. I leave you with the words of the late great Pete Burns 'All I know is that to me You look like you're lots of fun Open up your lovin' arms Watch out, here I come!'

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page