top of page

Intensive Interaction Week - PARENTS "Seclusion to Inclusion"


He lunges at the door. Hands on the window, thrusting his head onto the glass. Wide eyed terror and confusion. Adrenalin pumping, all-consuming sensory overload. His paramount mission to block out the pain.

I look on, helpless, fearing for my son’s life. The door reverberates from yet another assault from his head. This time he knocks himself out and crumples to the ground. Silence. I kneel and gently put his head on my lap stroking his hair whispering words of comfort. A slow tear escapes as I feel relief that it is over.

This is before I quite by chance discovered Intensive Interaction. I had no idea there was a technique with a name and a science behind it of something I had done quite naturally all my sons’ life. I also had no idea that it could be applied and implemented using the connection and trust to enhance lives. I devoured all I could read about it.

My son lives in a residential home. Because of the severity of his behaviours that challenge, staff had lost confidence in working with him and he would sit in his room isolated from the outside world. Medicated and alone.

I found a local organisation who practiced Intensive Interaction. Soon II practitioners were going into my sons’ home and engaging with him. Home staff watched in amazement as he responded quickly to II and thoroughly loved the sessions. But staff were set in their ways and II was not used at other times of the day, so nothing really changed.

Eventually my son moved to a new home. The new staff team were trained in Intensive Interaction before he moved in. Weekly coaching and mentoring sessions from II practitioners following the move really embedded II into the heart of the home. Both staff and my son grew in confidence. II became a way of life. Improving his personal care, daily activities, play and downtime. (See picture - II has given C the confidence to move across his room unprompted to discover there is a world out there. Something he had never done before.)

Head banging is now nearly non-existent. He is off medication and no longer isolated. He is actively taking part in life again enjoying the company of others and learning new skills.

Intensive Interaction is a powerful tool. Motivating and inspiring which can change lives.

Autistic people are often stereotyped as living in their own worlds. But when you speak their language they are more than happy to let you in. It is a truly wonderful place to be.

Jen Fookes. Parent.

My heartfelt thanks go to:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page